Benny’s blanket and a cuckoo in the nest

Happy Wednesday Everyone

I am unashamedly skiving for half an hour this morning as I just couldn’t wait to share my latest news with you all. One of the perks of working for yourself 🙂

Firstly, I wanted to update you on the strawberry seeds the boys planted a couple of weeks ago.  We got all excited last week as something had germinated but a bit sad as it was just one from a whole pack of seeds.  Well I am now beginning to suspect that this cheeky fellow isn’t a strawberry plant at all!  He’s just too big.  We now have three more tiny germinators and they look much more like strawberry seedlings to me.  Still, I can’t help but be excited to see what exactly our little cuckoo will turn out to be.  We will keep you posted 🙂

            

The other news I wanted to share was my newest crochet project.  This one is a granny square blanket for Benny’s room.  We recently redecorated his room for him to celebrate his move from a toddler bed to his  ‘big boy’ bunk beds.  Blue was the order of the day so we picked out some gorgeous ‘mini’ wallpaper and an ‘Italian job’ print for him.  These are the inspiration for his blanket.

            

Here are the colours I’ve chosen.  The bright, turquoise wool came to us from Scotland after my Mum and Dad’s latest trip.  Hand dyed and pure wool, I’ve been waiting to use it in a special project and I think this is it 🙂

The design is based on the traditional granny square but I’m experimenting with combining squares of different sizes.  I’m first making 6 large squares  of 20 rounds each and will then make 18 squares of 10 rounds and 24 squares of 5 rounds.  I have a rough plan which I’ll share with you when I’ve transferred it from the back of the envelope it is currently on to a proper piece of paper 😉

           

With love until next time

Tracey x

One thought on “Benny’s blanket and a cuckoo in the nest

Leave a Reply

